Skip to content
Skip to content

This archive is reader-funded. Help keep SunniPath's answers and books online, free for everyone.

Donate

Is Kosher meat halal?

Answered by
Shaykh Faraz Rabbani

This archive is free and reader-funded.Donate to keep it online

Question

Is kosher meat halal?

Answer

Salam,

The Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA) is a non-profit, Islamic organization, dedicated to promote Halal food and the institution of Halal.

IFANCA is headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, in the USA, and maintains offices on the West Coast, USA, Toronto, Canada and Brussels, Belgium.

IFANCA Frequently Asked Questions

Are Kosher products Halal?

This is a question that comes up once in a while. Let us take the time to provide a thorough analysis. In Islam, Halal means ‘lawful’ or ‘permitted’ and refers to all matters of life, not just food. In the same way, haram means ‘unlawful’ or 'prohibited' and refers to all matters of life, not just food. So it is proper to refer to pure foods, marriage to a cousin, having marital relations during the nights of Ramadan, etc. as being Halal. In the same light, it is proper to refer to pork, marriage to your sister or brother, hunting while in the Sacred Precincts or in Pilgrim garb (for Haj or Umrah), shameful deeds, etc. as being haram.

When it comes to meat and poultry, Muslims also use the term Zabiha (Dhabiha) to refer to meat from a Halal animal slaughtered by a Muslim in the prescribed Islamic way. (Meat from haram animals does not become Halal, even if it is slaughtered in the prescribed Islamic way. And a Muslim would never slaughter a haram animal.)

Kosher is a term

  • Islam prohibits all intoxicants, including alcohols, liquors and wines, whereas Judaism regards alcohol and wines as Kosher. Hence Kosher foods may contain alcohol. If they do, they are haram.
  • Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. For Muslims, if gelatin is prepared from swine it is haram. Even if gelatin is prepared from cows that are not Zabiha, many scholars consider it haram.
  • Kosher practice does not require Jews to pronounce the name of God on the animals while slaughtering, but Muslims must pronounce the name of ALLAH on all animals while slaughtering.

There may be other differences between Halal and Kosher that make the Kosher questionable for Muslims to consume.

These differences may seem minor to some. However, indulging in haram is a very serious offense against ALLAH and the punishment may be severe. Consuming alcohol or pork is a clear violation of ALLAH’s commandments and should not be taken lightly. The pronouncement of the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter is also a major act of worship and obedience. Remembering and pronouncing the name of ALLAH is very dear to Muslims and it is required at the time of slaughter.

And ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, knows best.

http://www.ifanca.org/faq/kosher.htm

This answer was published by SunniPath and is preserved as written. Rulings can depend on circumstances; for your own situation, consult a qualified scholar.

Originally published by SunniPath (sunnipath.com).

Comments

No comments yet.

Add a comment

Comments appear after review. Your email address is not displayed.